About Us

Dorcas Hand, a retired librarian of 38 years at all K-12 levels, is the founder of the TxASLTalks Blog. Currently she works in advocacy efforts for AASL and TASL. She also co-leads Students Need Libraries in HISD, working to raise awareness on the HISD school board of what librarians could do for district student achievement. Check out the SNL Facebook page as well. Her personal advocacy website is StrongSchoolLibraries, and her Twitter handle is @handdtx.

2018-2019 Editorial Board

Jacqueline Higginbotham is currently the media specialist at White Oak Middle School in New Caney ISD. She is the Chair for TALL Texans Round Table and serves on the TASL Legistlative and Advocacy Committee. Jacqueline has been working in education since 2000 (and as a librarian since 2006) and is passionate about libraries and literacy. She knows that having a certified librarian on campus will lead to creating more lifelong readers, 21st century learners, and higher student achievement. You can find Jacqueline on Twitter @jhigg38.

Brooke King is the librarian at Atascocita Middle School in Humble ISD. She is the current chair of the TxASLTalks Blog Editorial Board, vice-chair of TLA's Intellectual Freedom Committee, and serves on both the TASL Legislative and Advocacy Committee and TweensRead Festival committee. Previously, she served as the webmaster/social media chair for the Texas Bluebonnet Award Program Committee. She has presented at local and state conferences on library programming. Brooke is a YA bookworm, library advocate, technology integrator, and passionate about personalized learning. Find her on Twitter @bookwormbrookek

Dr. Rebecca Novotny is currently the librarian at Hopper Middle School in Cypress-Fairbanks ISD. She has been a librarian for 10 years and before that she was a middle school English Language Arts teacher. She is currently a Lead Middle School Librarian for the district. She also is a Lead Librarian Mentor and participates on the district Destiny Training Team. She has just completed her dissertation and has graduated with her Doctorate of Educational Leadership from Sam Houston State University. You can follow her on twitter at@msrnovotny.

Lucy Podmore is a high school librarian at Tom C. Clark High School in Northside ISD in San Antonio. She is currently serving as secretary for TASL and has formerly served on the LoneStar Committee as both a reading member and administrative assistant. Lucy has presented at various district, state and national conferences on library tools and roles. She was named as TCEA’s Library Media Specialist of the Year for 2014-15. You can find Lucy on Twitter @lupodmore where she co-moderates the Tuesday night Texas library chat, #txlchat at 8pm central.

Sonja Schulz is a high school librarian at Nacogdoches High School in beautiful Nacogdoches, Texas. She is currently YART Councilor and Co-Chair for the Texas State Library Standards Revision Committee. She has formerly served on many TLA committees, including the Lone Star Committee and the Spirit of Texas Middle School Committee, as well as serving as Secretary for District 8 and TASL Resolutions committee as both a member and Chair. She has presented at various district and state conferences on all things librarian and she is one of the moderators for the weekly librarian Twitter chat #txlchat. You can find Sonja on Twitter @sonjaschulz

Kristi Starr is the librarian at Coronado High School in Lubbock ISD. She is also one of two campus technology leaders (CTLs). She also serves as an adjunct professor in UNT's School Library Certification program. In addition to leadership roles in TLA (District 9 chair, TASL, Topaz reading list committee, and YART) and TCEA (LIB-SIG officer 2017-2019), Kristi is a co-moderator for #txlchat. Before becoming a librarian, she taught German and English. She reads a lot, enjoys running and sports, and tries to keep up with her husband Brian, three kids (Josh, Caleb, and Rachel), and two wiener dogs (Puck and Bucky). Look for Kristi on Twitter @StarrReadnRun. 

No comments:

Post a Comment